NYFW- Band of Outsiders & Peter Som

New York Fashion Week is upon us. This season has been really interesting so far. However, the fashion shows and the colour palettes in a lot of the collections have been quite muted and demure (read: fashion is slightly depressed by the financial crisis), but the creativity is still as good as ever. The scale of this year’s fashion week has become a lot smaller as budgets have been shrinking. So I was hoping to see really innovative thinking from NY designers on how to showcase their clothes. Real creativity happens regardless of money and especially when we are forced to be resourceful and think outside the box. A fashion show that I thought was really creative was the ‘tableau vivant’ at Band of Outsiders. The clothes are so great as well, see below.

band-of-outsiders-tableau1

Another presentation that I loved was by Peter Som, because the clothes speak for themselves. I guess this brand flies under the radar a bit. But, why? His clothes and I were meant for each other. As you can probably tell, I like him. Here are some of my favourite from this season’s collection.

peter-som-blog-entry

I wouldn’t object to owning the neon tie-dye dress (top center) and petticoat in the (bottom left hand corner). Hmm, not entirely sure about the neck-muff, I don’t think I could pull it off in my life. The styling and accessories really work in Som’s collection and pull the looks together.

Band of Outsiders and Peter Som are two designers that I’ve really taken notice of this season. To find out more about the Band of Outsiders go to their website. More information about Peter Som is available here. I’ll post more on NYFW later, but to see all the collections go to the official website or Style.com.

Currently listening to L.E.S Artistes by Santogold

Maame x

This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NYFW- Band of Outsiders & Peter Som

  1. Pingback: Sarah Silverman for Boy. by Band of Outsiders «

Leave a Reply

